We Have a Winner!

Posted February 11, 2013
By Kevin Spear

Quest for the Scorpion's Jewel Moonbeam Award

Warner Press is proud to announce that its youth fantasy fiction novel Quest for the Scorpion’s Jewel by Amy Green has been awarded a bronze medal in the 2012 Moonbeam Children’s Book Awards in the category of Pre-Teen Fiction – Fantasy.

The Moonbeam Children’s Book Awards are intended to bring increased recognition to exemplary children’s books and their creators, and to support childhood literacy and life-long reading. The Awards recognize and reward the best of these books and bring them to the attention of parents, booksellers, librarians—and to children themselves.

Quest for the Scorpion’s Jewel, the first book in the Amarias Adventures™ series, tells the story of Jesse, a 15-year-old boy who has suffered a crippling leg injury and whose parents have disappeared, leaving him to work in his uncle and aunt’s inn. A tyrant king rules over the people of Amarias, and some of them have banded together to form a Rebellion against their ruler. Facing danger at every turn, Jesse and his new friends Rae and Silas journey over treacherous mountains and across a desert on a mission to find the Scorpion’s Jewel. Throughout their quest, Jesse is spurred to move beyond his self-doubts and physical limitations as God is introduced at each stage in his journey.

Amy Green, a native of Indiana, is a professional writing major at Taylor University. She recently completed an internship at Focus on the Family and has written for Evangel, The Secret Place, Devo’zine, and WCBL radio. Her sci-fi version of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego appeared in Clubhouse magazine, and she has seen one of her plays published in Plays magazine. She has a sincere passion for serving others, defending truth and teaching the Bible throughout her writing. You check out her blog at http://justthefiction.blogspot.com

About The Moonbeam Children’s Book Awards

The Moonbeam Awards were created by northern Michigan-based book marketing firm the Jenkins Group, and the winners represent the best books published for children and young adults during the previous year. Judging panels of librarians, teachers, students, and book reviewers chose medalists in 39 categories, and winning books came from a diverse group of long-established publishers, small presses, associations, and self-publishers. The awards attracted more than 900 entries from throughout North America and the English-speaking world, and medals will go to books representing 35 U.S. states, 7 Canadian provinces, and 3 countries overseas.

Books 3 & 4 of the series are now available!

Look for these books at your local Christian bookstore.

Curse of the Forbidden Book 978-1-59317-493-4 Print edition  $7.99

978-1-59317-488-0  e-book  $7.99

Secret of the Giant’s Staircase $7.99    978-1-59317-700-3 Print edition

$7.99  978-1-59317-489-6  e-book

Leave a Reply


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

%d bloggers like this: